users' questions

Тема в разделе "General questions", создана пользователем Dmitri, 16 Июль 2014.

1. Dmitri

Dmitri Бывалый Команда форума Администратор

Симпатии:
    Баллы:
    Я на Forex с:
    Hi.
    First, my Russian is terrible. I learned it when I was a child but without practice...
    I'm a developer as you. When I want to evaluate new ideas I always look for ways of fast prototyping. I'm used to this from Java, C, SQL whatever.

- MetaTrader + MQL really is a pain in the ass. Too many bugs and/or undocumented "features" mess up everything, especially because every new broker brings in new discoveries/surprises. After 4 years I have a sophisticated MQL framework, inc. timezone management, history management, backoffice interface etc. etc. Still a pain...
    - StrategyQuant is of no use for anything more advanced.
    - ForexTester is great but you need to develop a prototyping framework beforehand.

If you don't mind:
    What approach or software do you use for testing/fast prototyping of new ideas? I'm looking for something simple and fast and discover that I spent way too much time on maintaining MQL libraries to keep compatibility with every new terminal realease. Which piece of software or approach did I miss?

Best regards,
    Peter

2. loopsider

loopsider Бывалый Команда форума Модератор

Симпатии:
    Баллы:
    We are in fact more traders than developers. Software means something only if it helps you to trade. The web is full of pretty codes that are completely useless when it comes to the actual trading. From this perspective, the question of framework is secondary. The primary question is what you are going to trade and how.